Sharjah Grand Prix 2017

February 16, 2017


2017 Sharjah GP Participants

# Fed Name Elo
1 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 2796
2 Levon Aronian 2785
3 Hikaru Nakamura 2785
4 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov 2766
5 Ding Liren 2760
6 Pavel Eljanov 2759
7 Michael Adams 2751
8 Ian Nepomniachtchi 2749
9 Alexander Grischuk 2742
10 Li Chao 2720
11 Evgeny Tomashevsky 2711
12 Dmitry Jakovenko 2709
13 Francisco Vallejo Pons 2709
14 Richard Rapport 2692
15 Alexander Riazantsev 2671
16 Salem Saleh 2656
17 Hou Yifan 2651
18 Jon Ludvig Hammer 2628

Update: note that, at the last minute, Wei Yi was replaced by Hou Yifan.

These 18 players will play a nine-round Swiss. This is a big difference with the previous GP tournaments, which were 14-player round robins, similar to the Tata Steel tournament in Wijk aan Zee.

The six GP players who are not going to be in Sharjah: Anish Giri, Pentala Harikrishna, Peter Svidler, Ernesto Inarkiev, Boris Gelfand, and Teimour Radjabov.

The first leg, in Sharjah, UAE, will be held February 18-27 (with a rest day on the 23rd) at the Sharjah Cultural & Chess Club. The first prize is €20,000; the total prize fund is €130,000.

The live broadcast of the commentary and the transmission of the games will be at Commentary will be provided by GM Viktor Bologan, Tyler Schwarz and's Peter Doggers.

One guess as to who Tyler Schwarz is:

So who is this Tyler Schwarz guy that will be commentating in sharjah?
My guess is that he is the person who won AGON's youtube contest.

(And I thought a ChessTalker was going to get that position