• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Players of the Year

Players of the Year

January 5, 2016

Stefan Loeffler

http://www.chess-news.ru/en/node/20737

This is the time of the year when chess journalists are invited by 64 magazine to vote for the Chess Oscar by casting a list of the ten best players of the preceding year. Before I tell and explain my choice, which I have been doing publicly since several years, please allow me a general observation: 2016 is promising to be a great year for chess. We are expecting a Candidates tournament, a Chess Olympiad and a World Championship match (that shall be less one-sided than the last two). Nothing of the sort in 2015.

The Grand Chess Tour was launched but didn�t add any new event, as Stavanger, St. Louis and London had already been on the map of top chess before. The same players kept playing each other, several of them were in poor shape, and the rules of the Tour look flawed. Three players had higher scores than the eventual winner of the series, Magnus Carlsen, who even dropped twenty rating points on the way.

What else happened? China confirmed its Olympiad win by also claiming the World Team Championship. For the first time in 25 years Armenian grandmasters competed in Azerbaijan, not least thanks to diplomatic efforts by FIDE President Ilyumzhinov. But now he is on the sanctions list of the US Treasury and may have to step back. Back to topic.

Here are my ten players of 2015, starting with number ten:

10. Yannick Pelletier has managed as number 357 of the ranking list to beat then number two ranked Nakamura as well as World Champion Carlsen within a couple of weeks.

9. Vladimir Kramnik has contributed a top score on the top board for Siberia Novosibirsk to win the European Club Cup and has finished the year on place two of the rating list.

8. Pavel Eljanov has produced the top individual performance of the year in the World Cup.