Canadian Chess Hall of Fame (Press Release by the founder, David Cohen)

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Canadian Chess Hall of Fame (Press Release by the founder, David Cohen)

    June 12, 2019
    For immediate release

    Frank J. Yerhoff Jr., of Regina, Saskatchewan, has been elected to the Canadian Chess Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will take place at the Canadian Open Chess Championship in Regina, Saskatchewan, at the Travelodge, 4177 Albert Street, at 17:40pm on Sunday, July 14, 2019.

    Frank Yerhoff (1918-1999) was Saskatchewan's leading chess master for many years. His accomplishments included winning the Canadian Chess Championship at Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in 1945, tied for first place with future Grandmaster Abe Yanofsky. Yerhoff also competed in the Canadian Championship in 1940 (4th place), 1941 (7th place), 1947 (4th place) and 1951 (8th place).

    Yerhoff was also a leading player of correspondence chess in Canada. He has the unique distinction of simultaneously being Canadian champion and Canadian correspondence champion. His victories include the 1938 Canadian Correspondence Chess Association Championship (1938); and the Canadian Correspondence Chess Championship (1939, 1940, 1941, 1943, 1945).

    Of local note is the fact that Yerhoff was many times chess champion of the city of Regina and of the province of Saskatchewan. For many years, he wrote the chess column in the "Saskatchewan Farmer".

    The Canadian Chess Hall of Fame was founded in 2000 to honour members of the Canadian chess community and to promote chess in Canada. The Canadian Chess Hall of Fame is hosted by Chess'n Math Association at its Montreal headquarters.

    Canadian Chess Hall of Fame web site:

    Frank Yerhoff biography:

    Frank Yerhoff photo:

    Contact info for the ceremony:


    I was to say Hall of Fame in translates says:
    temple de la renommée
    Last edited by Larry Bevand; Thursday, 13th June, 2019, 08:34 PM.