Rules question: seeking opinions

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rules question: seeking opinions

    I am posing a rules question: is it legal to make notes about a game, while that game is still in progress?

    This week during the 2025 Kingston Championship, where I am serving as assistant TD (and also playing), a player was making notes on the back of his scoresheet, while the game was still in progress. Given that he is a young, inexperienced contestant, but also quite strong, I held off until after the game finished, before bringing the 'questionable' aspect of this act to his attention, and imposed no penalty, other than a warning.

    I know there are several experienced arbiters who sometimes post on this site, so I am seeking their opinions, along with those of others.

    Thank you.

    Frank Dixon
    NTD, Kingston

  • #2
    Originally posted by Frank Dixon View Post
    I am posing a rules question: is it legal to make notes about a game, while that game is still in progress?

    This week during the 2025 Kingston Championship, where I am serving as assistant TD (and also playing), a player was making notes on the back of his scoresheet, while the game was still in progress. Given that he is a young, inexperienced contestant, but also quite strong, I held off until after the game finished, before bringing the 'questionable' aspect of this act to his attention, and imposed no penalty, other than a warning.

    I know there are several experienced arbiters who sometimes post on this site, so I am seeking their opinions, along with those of others.

    Thank you.

    Frank Dixon
    NTD, Kingston
    I believe you are right, Sir : making notes isn't allowed. Below is the famous So instance.

    Thank you for being kind to young players ; in So's case, the forfeit happened after multiple warnings/infractions.

    https://www.chess.com/news/view/brea...n-round-9-9186

    Comment


    • #3
      I believe the only notations allowed on a score sheet while a game is underway are time and draw offers.

      Comment


      • #4
        Hi Frank,

        Any extraneous notes (whether chess-related or not) can be construed as aides and are therefore not permitted.

        As Sam said, clock times and draw offers are fine (and encouraged -- clock times are helpful in case of a malfunction, and never a bad thing to have proof of one's opponent making excessive draw offers).

        Best,
        Heidi

        Comment


        • #5
          Thanks so much to Amit, Sam, and Heidi for their informative responses!!

          Clock times are also helpful for monitoring one's own time usage for reflection, as the late GM David Bronstein (1924-2006) wrote in his work.

          One thing I do as an arbiter is to write down the wall clock time for the start of the round, on my own score sheet (when I am also playing), or on a separate sheet, when not playing. I know IA Hal Bond does this as a matter of course, from having worked with him several times. This step was very helpful, for example, in the game Frank Dixon -- Raja Panjwani, 2002 Kingston Whig-Standard Championship, round 6, when the extended flag on Raja's side became stuck for several minutes (and no time elapsed when it was his move), before I noticed it. I was playing and directing. That was a game which could be characterized by: 'Everyone, Everything, All AT ONCE!!'

          Now, here is another question, in two parts, on the same theme, pertaining to claims for repetition of position, and 50-move rule.

          Is it legal to write down or note, on one's own player scoresheet, when a position has been repeated? I've done this for years. My note would be -- to denote a repetition of position after, say, move 47: 45^, and then, again, say, at move 49: 45^ / 47^, to prepare for a potential draw claim. I meant to ask this question at the excellent 2010 FIDE Arbiter Course in Toronto, taught by IA's Hal Bond and Stephen Boyd, but a convenient opportunity did not arise. A similar case would arise in the case for a player claim for 50-move rule; to note with a small mark, on the scoresheet, the last move when a pawn was moved or a piece captured. Legal!?

          Respectfully submitted,
          Frank Dixon
          NTD, Kingston

          Comment


          • #6
            Frank Dixon

            With regards to your question, "Is it legal to write down or note, on one's own player scoresheet, when a position has been repeated?"

            From my understanding this is not allowed. In my personal opinion it would be considered as an additional notation which goes beyond simply recording the moves made.

            From what I've found from the FIDE rulebook:

            According to the FIDE Laws of Chess, a player’s scoresheet is meant solely for recording the moves (and time information, if required) of the game. Any additional notes—including annotations such as “1st repetition,” “2nd repetition,” etc.—are considered extra commentary or analysis and are not permitted.

            To elaborate:
            • FIDE Requirements: The scoresheet must only contain the move record (and time information if a player would like; time information being the clock times on the chess clock). This is clearly stated to ensure that the scoresheet isn’t used as a tool for additional analysis or as a reference during the game.
            • Additional Notations: Writing down extra information, like the count of repeated positions, goes beyond simply recording the moves made. Such annotations could provide additional insights or reminders during the game, which FIDE rules explicitly disallow.
            • Practical Implication: While players can calculate or note in their mind that a position has repeated, writing this down on the official scoresheet is not allowed under FIDE rules.
            Thanks / Regards,

            Riley Khan
            FIDE Arbiter
            ricool54321@hotmail.com

            Comment


            • #7
              I had an incident in a GEMS junior event back in the mid-90s. A player got up and walked around recording all of the openings from the other games. I informed the player that this was not permitted and confiscated the document.

              Comment

              Working...
              X