Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• World Amateur Chess Championship

Hello everyone!

From March 19 - 25, 2010, the World Amateur Chess Championships will be coming to North America on the northern shores of Chicago, IL. This is the first time this event has ever been held on the North American continent! The event is open to those with a FIDE rating of 2000 or below (including if you don't have a FIDE rating!).

The event will feature a $20,000 USD prize fund, the ability to gain the titles of FM and WFM, and 2 scholarships to Texas Tech University.

For those of you that don't know me, I have been organizing FIDE title norm tournaments for the past 4 years. Canadians GM Pascal Charbonneau and WIM Yuanling Yuan scored their GM and WIM norms in my events. IM Eric Lawson and FM Raja Panjwani have also tried for their norms.

I hope to see a strong showing from Canada. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Good Chess to All,

Sevan A. Muradian, Founder
    North American Chess Association
    International Arbiter and International Organizer

http://www.worldchesschamps.com
    Last edited by Sevan Muradian; Sunday, 13th December, 2009, 10:12 PM.

Re: World Amateur Chess Championship

Thank you for posting here this event.
    Now i know one major event where players can get their FM title.
    And it is only 9 hours drive from Toronto.

More success to you!
    Last edited by Erwin Casareno; Monday, 14th December, 2009, 01:36 PM.

Comment

Pre-Registered as of Dec 15, 2009

The table below displays all individuals currently registered for the 2010 World Amateur Chess Championship.

Currently the following federations are represented:

America's – United States
      Europe – Finland, Russia, Netherlands
      Asia – Sri Lanka
      No.
      Name Federation FIDE ID FIDE Rating

1 Mikhail Strovsky Russia 24111627 1911
      2 Prashantha Amarasinghe Sri Lanka 2039320 1954
      3 Raino Soikkeli Finland 500763 1727