X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• From the Fide website...SWEDEN...in 3 parts

Sweden - Chess in Schools project
    Saturday, 16 July 2011 21:10
    A few weeks ago, we published an article about the Schack4an project in Sweden. Here is the follow-up about their schack i skolan project.

In 2009 the Swedish chess federation started a trial project for Chess in Schools in the town of Lund. The goal was to find a way to take care of the interest for chess that was born out of the nationwide school tournament “Schack4an” (Chess4).

Chess in the Schools – Sweden

by Jesper Hall

Who am I?

My name is Jesper Hall and I am employed to work with Schack i Skolan (Chess in the Schools) by the Swedish Chess Federation (SCF) for a year and a half now. My background is that of a theatre director and project leader of cultural festivals and events. As a player, I became an International Master, with 2501 Elo and two grandmaster norms, but I quit playing eleven years ago, to focus on chess training at all levels. I have written ten books on chess, mainly in Swedish. In 2011 I gained the title of FIDE Senior Trainer.

Why do I write this?

During the past year, I have tried to build up contacts with countries which are running Chess in the Schools projects, and with people who are as interested as I am in pedagogy and chess. I have found that a lot of people have come to the same conclusions as me, in many cases based on experience. The process of gaining this experience is long, so why not share? Imagine that every country, that has tried to get chess into school, wrote their story, what problems they faced, and how they dealt with them. Then we would not have to invent the wheel more than once.

Introduction