The Toronto Chess Club

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Toronto Chess Club

Is there a listing of the addresses of the Toronto Chess Club through the years somewhere on-line? It would be very helpful some day when some one sits down to write a history of the chess clubs in the Greater Toronto Area.
    Four years ago there was a thread in this Forum about the history of the Scarborough Chess Club. From that I have taken some of the memories for this posting.

When I first came to Toronto as a student, I played in a simultaneous at the Toronto Chess Club. Lionel Joyner took on 21 opponents with two games blindfolded from 8:00 to 10:30 on October 26, 1961.

The two blindfold opponents had their moves called out from a back room while Joyner chain-smoked replying.

My recollection is that the club was on an upper floor (the second?) at 801 Yonge Street. That was on the east side of Yonge Street, just north of Bloor. That site is occupied now by the Toronto Reference Library.

In 1970 Chess Canada had an inside cover advertisement for the Toronto Chess Club at 321 Davenport. T. Carleton was the President and Professor Maurice Lister was the Vice-President.

“The TCC used to have a plaque reading “Established 1880” but really dates from the 1840s. The Central YMCA Chess Club dates from the 1880s as well. The two clubs merged around 1976 and moved to the old courthouse at 57 Adelaide Street East (at Church)”. It is an imposing pile, three storeys high, very solid, with four immense stone columns, two on each side of the entrance. Something to rival the Moscow Central Chess Club on Gogolsky Boulevard perhaps!

“President Jaeger thought that there should be a new name, something like Toronto Central CC. Despite a heavy investment in renovations, the club had to move in 1978 when the main tenant went under, moved to 109 Vaughan Road, north of St. Clair”.

I have a listing for the City Chess Club in 1985 at 519 Church Street.