chess tournament rating sections

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• chess tournament rating sections

I remember when I started playing chess about 10 yrs ago ( the good old days). The sections for tournaments were exactly the rating divisions. So there would be an open section. an 1800 - 2000 section, 1600 - 1800 section and so on. It was a heirarchy system that made sense. No one was allowed to play up a section and you had to earn your right to play in a section.

Lets fast forward to todays situation. I am enrolled in a Hal Bond tournament which are always excellent. My problem is the sections are 400 rating points apart. 1600 - 2000 is the section I am playing in. I hope and pray they wont allow anyone to play up. The rating section is already 400 points huge and allowing someone to play up with just be a joke.

The argument I hear is that there is not enough players to have 200 point rating sections but I dont buy that at all. It was never a problem in the past and the tournaments were way more competitive making everyone in the section feel like they could win the whole thing. I would like to have some feedback on this from the players to see if they are happy with the current situation of would like to see the old rating sections come back into vogue. If the players would prefer the old rating sections instead why should the players not get what they want.

I wonder if they will let me play in next years Tata Steel tournament. I would be willing to pay the 10 bucks to play up ofcourse as my rating is not high enough to play in that section. Why have rating divisions at all if you dont have to earn your way into a section anyways.

Re: chess tournament rating sections

Originally posted by Mate Milinkovic View Post