Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help Creating a Media Release!

Good morning fellow Chessers :)

In about three weeks, the NL Chess Championships will begin, and I (along with a few other very helpful members) have been trying to make this a very prestigious tournament.

I would like to invite a few members of the media community to attend the opening ceremony, so I have been advised to submit a Media Release to the local TV networks, radio stations, and newspapers.

The problem is that I've never done this before, and I have no clue what to do. Could anyone (or more than one please :D) out there please give me some guidance?

The major improvements over past NL Opens that I am focusing on are: the inclusion of strong masters, such as former NL resident IM Aman Hambleton, and 5-time NL Champion FM Grant Spraggett, and; the venue being a local fishing and country club which will add a professional atmosphere of the event.

Also, the NL Open was formerly held on Labour Day weekend, so very few juniors would play as this was the last long weekend before school started. This year we aimed at having the tournament after the winter semester exams ended, so we are hoping for a junior contingent and, possibly, a junior prize.

Please either reply here, or feel free to e-mail chess (at) berson (dot) ca.

Thanks in advance!!! Jordan
    No matter how big and bad you are, when a two-year-old hands you a toy phone, you answer it.

Re: Need Help Creating a Media Release!

Originally posted by Jordan S. Berson View Post

In about three weeks, the NL Chess Championships will begin, and I (along with a few other very helpful members) have been trying to make this a very prestigious tournament.

I would like to invite a few members of the media community to attend the opening ceremony, so I have been advised to submit a Media Release to the local TV networks, radio stations, and newspapers.