Seeking Input on Chess Variant (Online)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking Input on Chess Variant (Online)

Hello, I was hoping I could get some expert opinions on a project I've been working on! I'm a game designer who only plays a little bit of Chess, and have made a web implementation of a Chess variant tentatively called "Draft Chess".

Online Interactive Game Link

Draft Chess is a chess variant in which players get to draft their own starting lineup of pieces. In addition to 4 Pawns and a King, players alternate drafting 10 additional pieces from a set of 5. Because the selection of pieces and their locations can naturally counter other options, this process is meaningful and strategic. It also makes playing white and black very different.

You can see a drop down list with all games currently being played (server was just reset, so there are none at the moment), which you can join or watch accordingly. There is also a tutorial button that provides everything you need to know about the rules and pieces. (very little is different from traditional chess; there are only two new pieces, one of which--the cannon--already exists in xiangqi)

The game feels familiar to the mechanics and overall strategy of chess, while testing different skills and providing a different nature of game. Feedback has so far been positive from players of various skill level backgrounds, so I hope you will find the game an interesting and enjoyable distraction.